#thriftthatOOTD

In another #thriftthatOOTD moment, here is your tired nurse, semi recovered from last week’s crazy shifts, thankfully not in zombie mode, and frolicking around brick walls in hand me downs and second hand clothes. Can I just say I am so proud of myself for still wearing the same clothes I used to wear back home? Thank you. In this lazy, anything comfortable day, I wore my favourite maxi skirt, thrifted from one of Baguio’s notorious ukay ukay hotspot. My boyfriend bought me this Johnny Cash t-shirt he scrounged from the night market, also in Baguio. The jacket was originally owned by my mother, but she eventually gave it to us. Yes me and my sibs share clothes. Until eventually I got the full rights to use it, because I needed it for my OFW life. And, not to forget my ever reliable tote bag from Artwork, which is a Filipino brand. In all fairness, this bag has had plenty of washes already but the print is still in tact. Plus I can fit so many things in it, even groceries sometimes.

I don’t know how many times I have to say it, and here I am saying it again. I will never ever get tired of expressing myself in second hand clothing. It’s extremely practical and sustainable for me to wear what is already there. Considering what’s happening in our world right now with trends and fast fashion and social media. I left my hometown thinking that living overseas is a good opportunity to reinvent myself but gosh that was a mistake. Almost 5 years down the road but who I am now and who I want to be are all deeply rooted to how I grew up. Even the minute aspects of my life, like my choice of clothing are still greatly influenced by my hometown, #tigabaguio. I may have had a different purpose to buying second hand back then, but if I think about it now, it makes so much sense to have done it that way. Clothes don’t decompose, they may go out of style but which should you put emphasis to? It’s so easy to make a choice. I prefer making the right choice, every chance I can get.

Although, I also have to say, I don’t exclusively purchase all things second hand. Lately, I’ve been exploring the world of conscious buying which I have been avoiding before. I really can’t push myself to buy an organic ethically curated dress for more than a hundred pounds. Like wow that’s too too much for me. BUT! There’s more to this story, I swear. I just need to research further and I guess have more experience about it before I say anything.

Well, I guess that’s about it for my WordPress #thriftthatOOTD shebang shebang debut, until my next non zombie mode day off 🙂

Leave a comment